Guide to the Lakes

This website uses cookies in order to function correctly

Learn more

Close notice

There are nineteen major lakes in the Lake District National Park, although only one of them has the word "lake" in its name - Bassenthwaite Lake. The others are meres, waters or reservoirs. In addition there are many tarns, which are smaller in size and usually found at higher levels, such as Watendlath Tarn above Derwentwater.

This website only features the major lakes in the northern lake district, which is usually considered to be the area north of Dunmail Raise.

All the lakes have different landscape qualities, but attract millions of visitors every year.

There is a list of bodies of water in the Lake District -


Watendlath Tarn

The various photographic images on this website are copyright of Jenkin Hill Internet or Keswick Tourism Association or Cumbria Tourism or Kelvyn Sheppard.